Biography

Chris d’Entremont is a proud Acadian from Nova Scotia. Originating from West Pubnico, he now resides in Belleville with his family. He was first elected on August 5, 2003 as MLA for Argyle-Barrington under the Progressive Conservative banner and held his seat in the Nova Scotia House of Assembly until 2019 having won four consecutive elections.

During his 17 years in provincial politics, Chris held several positions in the cabinet. He has served as Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Acadian Affairs, Health and Community Services and was the Parliamentary Leader of the Official Opposition during his last six years.

His energy, motivation, dedication, involvement and creativity have all had a significant and positive impact on his former provincial riding of Argyle-Barrington and on the entire province of Nova Scotia as a whole.

As Minister of Health, he introduced Nova Scotia’s first Continuing Care Strategy, which provided the best possible care for our seniors and launched the largest long-term care home building program in our province’s history. Chris also introduced Canada’s first family drug insurance program, helping Nova Scotians with catastrophic drug coverage.

As of October 21, 2019, Chris is the federal Member of Parliament for the riding of West Nova and is in fact the only Conservative representative elected in the entire province. Chris is very proud to represent and support the population West Nova through his vast experience and parliamentary background.

In September 2020, the new Leader of the Official Opposition and Canada’s Conservatives, Erin O’Toole, appointed Chris as the Shadow Minister for Intergovernmental Affairs and the Atlantic Canada Economic Promotion Agency.

Chris has been married to his wife Anne for 25 years; they have two sons Alec and André.

As the Member of Parliament for West Nova, Chris appreciates all the comments, questions and concerns from the citizens he represents. He remains available to meet with his constituents, groups and organizations on issues of federal interest.

Biographie

Chris d’Entremont est un fier Acadien de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Originaire de la région de Pubnico-Ouest, il habite présentement à Belleville avec sa famille. Élu pour une première fois le 5 août 2003 comme député provincial de la circonscription d’Argyle-Barrington sous la bannière du parti Progressiste-conservateur, il occupera son siège à la Chambre de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse jusqu’en 2019 en remportant 4 autres élections consécutives.

Au cours de ses 17 années de politique provinciale, Chris a occupé plusieurs postes au sein du cabinet ministériel. Il a été ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Aquaculture, des Affaires acadiennes, de la Santé et des Services communautaires ainsi que Leader parlementaire de l’Opposition officielle au cours des six dernières années.

Son énergie, sa motivation, son dévouement, son implication et sa créativité ont eu un impact aussi important que positif sur son ancienne circonscription provinciale d’Argyle-Barrington et sur l’ensemble de la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

À titre de ministre de la Santé, il a présenté la première Stratégie de soins continus de la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui a permis d’assurer les meilleurs soins possibles à nos aînés et d’a lancé le plus important programme de construction de maisons de soins de longue durée de l’histoire de notre province. Chris a également présenté le premier programme d’assurance-médicaments pour la famille au Canada, aidant les Néo-Écossais à avoir une couverture de médicaments catastrophiques.

Depuis le 21 octobre 2019, Chris est maintenant député fédéral de la circonscription de Nova-Ouest, étant le seul conservateur élu dans la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Avec sa solide expérience et de son bagage parlementaire, Chris est très fier de représenter et de soutenir toute la population de Nova-Ouest.

En Septembre 2020, Erin O’Toole, le nouveau Chef de l’Opposition Officielle et des conservateurs du Canada, a nommé Chris en tant que Ministre responsable des affaires intergouvernementals et de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada Atlantique dans son Cabinet fantôme.

Chris est marié à sa conjointe Anne depuis 25 ans, ils ont deux fils Alec et André.

En tant que député fédéral de Nova-Ouest, Chris apprécie les commentaires, les questions et les préoccupations de ses citoyennes et citoyens et reste disponible pour échanger avec ses commentants, groupes et organisations sur des questions d’intérêt fédéral.